A successful year draws to a close

UKIP membership has risen by two thirds in the last year and the party now has 32,500 members nationally.

2014Over the same period here in Telford & Wrekin we have seen our membership almost double which is a statistic we’re more than happy with considering there has been no borough-wide election campaign this year to raise our profile like there were in other parts of the country.

In March our branch chairman, Cllr Denis Allen won a by-election for the Dothill ward of Wellington Town Council, receiving the highest number of votes for a UKIP candidate in a by-election.

We stood three candidates in the Shropshire Council elections in May in Shifnal and Albrighton which come under our branch by virtue of being in the Wrekin constituency. Two of those candidates – Cllr Andy Mitchell and Cllr Richard Choudhary – were elected to Shifnal Town Council.

In July we saw Cllr Ryan Laing and Cllr Lynda Hogger elected to Madeley Town Council and Stirchley & Brookside Parish Council respectively in two by-elections held on the same day.  Cllr Laing beat Cllr Allen’s record for the highest percentage by-election vote to win in the Woodside ward and Cllr Hogger beat borough councillor Nathan England to win in the Brookside ward.

We finish the year with nine councillors and looking forward to 2014 when we will be working hard to help UKIP win the EU elections in May and returning our own Cllr Jill Seymour as one the UKIP MEPs for the West Midlands.

Posted in Councillors, General, UKIP News Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *