Our Branch

The branch covers the Westminster constituencies of Telford and the Wrekin.

ChairmanCllr Peter Roberts
President: Brian Seymour
Secretary: Kirsty Murrell
Treasurer: Patrick Smith
Membership Secretary: Tobias Flanders
Campaign Manager: Prednisone taper
Fundraiser: Tony Fyfield

Telford and The Wrekin Boundaries

The borough of Telford & Wrekin is divided into two parliamentary constituencies – the Telford constituency and the Wrekin constituency.

Despite the name, the Telford constituency doesn’t cover the whole of Telford and the Wrekin constituency doesn’t just cover the parts of the borough by the Wrekin. The Wrekin constituency isn’t even confined to the borough of Telford & Wrekin either just to add further confusion to the matter!

Roughly speaking, if you’re in the town of Telford and not in Trench, Donnington, Muxton, Hadley, Leegomery, Shawbirch, Arleston or Wellington then you’re in the Telford constituency. If you’re in one of those areas, Newport or the rural part of the borough then you’re in the Wrekin constituency. If you live outside the borough but in the Shifnal, Cosford or Albrighton areas you’re also in the Wrekin constituency.

There is a military base located in both constituencies – DSG Donnington in the Telford constituency and RAF Cosford in the Wrekin constituency – making the armed forces an important part of the local economy.  The Wrekin constituency is named after the hill of the same name near Little Wenlock which is the highest point in Shropshire and a popular venue for walkers.

The current MP for Telford is Labour’s David Wright MP and for the Wrekin is the Conservatives’ Mark Pritchard MP.  David Wright’s majority was cut to just 981 votes in the 2010 general election whilst Mark Pritchard’s majority increased to 9,450.  In the 2010 general election, then UKIP Telford & Wrekin Chairman Denis Allen came fourth in the election for the Telford constituency with 5.7% of the vote whilst Malcolm Hurst came fourth in the Wrekin constituency with 4.5% of the vote.