Douglas Carswell is UKIP’s first elected MP

Douglas Carswell has won the Clacton by-election for UKIP by a huge margin, increasing his majority and becoming UKIP’s first elected MP.

John Bickley came unbelievably close to unseating Labour in the Heywood & Middleton by-election, falling short by just over 600 votes after a bundle check.

Carswell’s victory for UKIP in Clacton represents a 44% swing from Conservative to UKIP and is the largest winning vote increase for any party in history whilst Bickley’s close second in Heywood & Middleton will mortify Labour who almost lost the safe northern seat that they have held since it was created 21 years ago.

A few¬†years ago the party was very much the underdog, barely registering on opinion polls and tanking in elections. How things have changed. UKIP has replaced the Lib Dems as the number three party in the UK and is challenging both the Conservatives and Labour. The courage that Douglas Carswell and Mark Reckless have shown in defecting from the Conservatives and resigning their seats to get a fresh mandate for UKIP is a rare display of principals that hadn’t been seen since Churchill crossed the floor twice when his party failed to represent his beliefs. But we must also recognise the role of Nigel Farage who has devoted his life to turning UKIP into a serious political force for good at great personal expense. There is no doubt in my mind that UKIP’s success over the last couple of years, culminating in yesterday’s historic first ever Westminster by-election win would not have happened were it not for Nigel Farage’s leadership of the Peoples’ Army that he has created.


Candidate Party Vote %
Douglas Carswell UKIP 21,113 59.7%
Giles Watling Conservative 8,709 24.6%
Tim Young Labour 3,957 11.0%
Chris Southall Green 688 1.7%
Andrew Graham Lib Dem 483 1.3%
Bruce Sizer Independent 205 0.6%
Alan “Howling Laud” Hope Loony 127 0.4%
Charlotte Rose Independent 56 0.2%

Heywood & Middleton

Candidate Party Vote %
Liz McInnes Labour 11,663 40.9%
John Bickley UKIP 11,016 38.7%
Iain Gartside Conservative 3,496 12.3%
Anthony Smith Lib Dem 1,457 5.1%
Abi Jackson Green 870 3.1%
Posted in Elections, National News, UKIP News Tagged with: , , ,
One comment on “Douglas Carswell is UKIP’s first elected MP
  1. Hywel Hughes-Williams says:

    Is it only me questioning the roll of postal voting fraud in Heywood, both “minor” head of houses voting on behalf of those in their household and “major” directed by labour activists.

    Does anyone know the pattern of late registrations ( a classic sign ) . If only we had enough evidence to challenge in court -argh!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *